Allegory of Death

Allegory of Death

 

Allegory of Death, c. 1860

Clement-Auguste Andrieux
French, 1829-1880

Pen and brush, brown ink and black Conté crayon, with watercolor, gouache, black and white chalk, and sanguine Conté crayon with smudging on cream wove paper

 

Dear Spectator,

My long absence is unforgivable. What I did in the past few months has something to do with my instability; for that, I’m sorry.

This artwork somehow spills everything I wanna say – I woke up from a nightmare this morning and for a moment, I thought I was dead. I suddenly remembered my family back home, and pretty much everything and everyone important to me.

Perhaps the nightmare was an allegory, or sort of a wake up call that I’ve been neglectful lately. It shook me real good, and reminded me that I’m still alive.

I’ve been making amends to those I’ve wronged, and this is exactly what I’m doing to you now, dear reader. This might not be enough, but If you are currently in the same situation as I am, I do hope this would serve as your wake up call, too.

3 thoughts on “Allegory of Death

  1. First, yay!! You’re back! And that’s not meant as a criticism my friend, just genuine pleasure to see you return. You were missed!!! Second, I hope you are ok – it sounds like you’ve been through a lot, and a lot that requires much personal courage and commitment. My very best wishes to you on that journey. 🙂 🙂

    1. Hi Helen 🙂 I am so glad seeing your name on my post again. I am well, thanks a lot, and I miss reading your work!

      I have a lot of catching to do though, but I’m sure I’ll thoroughly enjoy it 🙂

      Thank you!

Leave a Reply

